Creativity Mode: Fashion Illustrations

It strikes, nourishes & stimulates. Like lightning bolts illuminating the night sky, inspiration ignites unexpectedly. And while providing a flow of artistic energy for creativity, it takes the unknown from the abstract & materializes it into an idea, object or action. And for anyone who is a fashion illustrator, it’s about creating & conveying emotions; it’s the unification of color & design. Below are several fashion + class & jet lag Twitter followers that have shared a glimpse of where their minds have taken their pencils, ink & watercolors. | Giuseppe

 Name | Sandra M.

Location | USA

I’m usually inspired to illustrate when | As much as I love my calm, serene studio, I am a city girl that loves to soak in the energy of New York {my favorite city} and, therefore, travel to the city as often as I can.  The townhouses, busy streets, taxis, windows displays, architecture, restaurants and bakeries, the fashion … even the noise of the city … are the fuel for my illustrations.

My favorite spot to be creative | In my studio, where the light is controlled, the music is my choice, my schedule is flexible and the days pass by all too quickly!

|{-}|

Name | Anne Hammes

Location | Bloomfield, NJ, USA

My favorite spot to be creative | On my train commute into NYC. I tend to get some good ideas when daydreaming out the window. I then put them on paper at my little home studio.

A fashion brand that I would love to sketch for | Vivienne Tam or Anthropologie – I love working with colors and prints.

|{-}|

Name | Lauren Luna

Location |  Houston, Texas, USA

I’m usually inspired to illustrate when | When it comes to me.

My favorite spot to be creative | Anywhere. Ideas come from everywhere.

|{-}|

Name | Roshni A.

Location | London, UK

I’m usually inspired to illustrate when | I’m walking around London or visiting vintage shops.

A fashion brand that I would love to sketch for | Comme des Garçons

|{-}|

Name | Sophie Durston

Location | London, UK

I’m usually inspired to illustrate when | I see something that I find really interesting such as a pattern and/or texture within a designer’s collection or fashion editorial.

A fashion brand that I would love to sketch for | Givenchy or Proenza Schouler

|{-}|

Name | Juliet Altmann

Location |  New York City, USA

My favorite spot to be creative | Place de la Sorbonne in Paris. I find the people so interesting. I could spend an entire afternoon sitting there in a café with my sketchbook, observing and learning from my surroundings. I have a tendency to fall in love with the runway of people around me, and this passion is what makes me feel the most like an artist.

A fashion brand that I would love to sketch for | Lanvin

|{-}|

Name |  Sonia Milano

Location | Montreal, Canada

I’m usually inspired to illustrate when | I see a beautiful photograph or painting. Sometimes I’m attracted to the beautiful vibrant colors, sometimes it’s the simplicity  of clean lines or shapes but most of all, it’s when I understand what the artist or photographer is trying to convey. I feel connected to it.

A fashion brand that I would love to sketch for | Dolce and Gabbana because of their inspiration of the southern Italian woman, Italian family life and the neo-realism in their ads. I love the sexiness and mysteriousness of their advertising campaigns. I grew up in an Italian household and I would hear stories of the struggles and desolate times in the south of Italy and how they always maintained a stylish and attractive appearance to the world. I love that darkness, that curiosity- sexy and beautiful at the same time.

|{-}|

