Runway Spotlight: Monique Lhuillier

Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week | New York City

Monique Lhuillier

Spotlighting a favorite from SpringSummer 2013:

 

Here is a rarity when it comes to today’s fashion landscape; the retailer who decides to become the manufacturer as well as the designer and proprietor. Keeping this in mind, it is easier for me to understand the why’s and how’s of this collection.

Ms. Lhuillier deftly mixes up her selection by using prints, a variety of fabrications, textures and shapes that she feels will appeal to her clientele. For me prints are a very personal matter so when I see all these “fish scale like” patterns, I am not thrilled. While the digitally enhanced patterns may be a technological feat, will they be a commercial selling point? Once again, my merchant side appears!

As a whole, the collection is beautifully rendered and I am sure there are tons of pieces which will resonate with her ladies when they need “destination” pieces as well as just a great dinner or cocktail dress to own for all those “I don’t know what to wear occasions!” The peplum styles are very feminine in the more obvious way while the simpler and less adorned styles remain great options for any wardrobe. Spring is never an easy season to design or show. This is a collection that can be seen as seasonless and I am pretty sure this is a collection that will perform on all levels. | Jeffrey Felner

 

 

picture via Thomas Iannaccone

